Railroad Bridge History
Our famed Dungeness River Railroad Bridge was first constructed in 1916 by the Seattle, Port Angeles, and Western Railway, a subsidiary of the Milwaukee Road. This first wooden bridge was replaced in 1930 and in 1992 volunteers began to work on the abandoned bridge, after Milwaukee Road went bankrupt, replacing the planking and creating a bike trail. In 1995, the property surrounding the bridge was purchased by the Washington State Audubon Society, which then created the Dungeness River Center and a park called Railroad Bridge Park. The bike path over the bridge is connected to the Olympic Discovery Trail.
Swept AwayMember of the community last year after a severe storm seriously damaged the beloved bridge, a major trestle replacement project was launched and in what seems record-breaking time, the bridge has reopened for cyclists and wanderers to once again enjoy this gem of Sequim.
The Dungeness River Railroad Bridge has its own kind of celebrity and locals recognize many a wedding photo, high school graduation photo, and family photo as having been taken here. The new bridge retains all the charm and history of the old Railroad Bridge, and yet the new portion of the bridge is an engineering marvel right in our own backyard.
Just wanted you to know one of the fabulous perks of our area. There are so many and it is the perfect day to get out and enjoy ours outdoors!
Go to the PLACES tab above to read more about Sequim, Port Angeles, Port Townsend, Forks, Seiku-Clallam Bay and Joyce.